Sony Pictures Networks India (SPN) acquires exclusive media rights for the inaugural edition of the Lanka Premier League 2020

New Delhi

Sony Pictures Networks India (SPN) has acquired the exclusive pay television & IPTV broadcast rights for the Lanka Premier League (LPL) India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Nepal, Bhutan & Maldives and non-exclusive FTA rights for the same countries excluding Sri Lanka. The tournament will take place against the scenic Sri Lankan backdrop at the Mahinda Rajapaksha International Cricket Stadium from 26th November to 16th December 2020. SPN will telecast the series LIVE and Exclusive on SONY SIX Channels and will be livestreamed on its on-demand OTT platform SonyLIV in India.

Five franchisee teams, named after Colombo, Kandy, Galle, Dambulla and Jaffna, will compete via the round-robin format, featuring 23 matches over a 15-day period for the title. Colombo will take on Kandy in the opening match and the final will be played on 16th December 2020. A galaxy of global stars which includes Andre Russell, Shahid Afridi, Wahab Riaz, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Amir, Angelo Mathews,  Irfan Pathan and many more will be taking part in the 15-day extravaganza. Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has awarded the marketing and organizing rights of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) to Dubai-based globally renowned sports production company Innovative Production Group (IPG). The rights bagged include Team Franchise Rights, Team Ownership Rights, International Media rights, Ground Sponsorship Rights and AV Productions Rights.